Skip to content

Heaven on Earth Restaurant, Hong Kong

April 20, 2010

1-13 D’Aguilar Street

Lan Kwai Fong

Ginger Beef

I’ve always wanted to visit Hong Kong for the simple reason that I want to pig out on good Chinese food. I envisioned myself in the harbor, surrounded by fairy lights watching junk boats in the distance as the sun is setting. I’d have my chopsticks mid-air between the bowls of noodle soup and spicy shrimp, lost in the noisy chatter coming from the endless array of roadside tables, all filled with people from all walks of life, and all colors.

For the two days that H and I were there, we weren’t able to do that, but we did manage to find a fantabulous Chinese place. H’s good friend from college was celebrating his 40th in Hong Kong so we took the opportunity to visit, and he was kind enough to treat us to this funky bar/resto called Heaven on Earth in the famous Lan Kwai Fong district for lunch.

I initially thought it was an odd place for a resto, as you would have totally missed it if you didn’t know where it was. It was at the basement of an office building, and you had to manage a narrow flight of stairs going down. Heaven on Earth’s interior was way hip for a food place, dimly lit with China red walls and giant incense spirals acting as ceiling lamps. H and Pete were served jasmine tea while we were contemplating on the menu. Earlier that day we passed by a tea house which smelled strongly of hot and sour soup, making me crave just that, so I ordered a hot and sour seafood bowl. H ordered the crispy duck breast slices with sesame flatbread (which comes with leeks and cucumber slices), while Pete took care of ordering the tried and tested dishes. We had an order of ginger stir fry beef, pork dumplings, spring rolls and fried rice with pine nuts.

Crispy duck pancakes

Fried rice with pine nuts

Fried rice with pine nuts

Hot and sour seafood

Kickass springrolls

O-M-G. This is the best Chinese food I’ve ever had in my life! The hot and sour soup had the right balance of tanginess and spice, too bad I couldn’t share it with H because of his allergy to shrimp. The duck was very crispy and not too fatty (perfect as he put it), the dumplings were very meaty and came with a red vinegar sauce, and the spring rolls were at par with the holy grail of spring rolls for me (Vietnamese spring rolls) with its loose filling and smoky flavor. I didn’t have enough room in my belly for the ginger beef, but with the small morsel I ate, I was able to conclude that it was great as well. I actually thought it was way too much food for three people to consume but by the end of the meal everything was wiped out.

H and Pete had a bit of tug-of-war with the bill, which Pete won. We don’t actually know how much it all amounted to, but I know it couldn’t have been cheap. However a number of blogs claim that it’s actually mid-range for the quality of food and ambience, that it seems it’s good value for money. I suppose it is heaven on Earth then.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

